drops_on_a_leaf-scaled1000-300x226A perfect man is like a lotus-leaf in the water or like a mud-fish in the marsh. Neither of these is polluted by the element in which it lives.

~ Ramakrishna

It’s amazing what can happen when you open yourself to a higher power. Over much of the last eighteen months, I’ve struggled to understand the motivation and goals of men like Vladimir Putin, Recep Tayyip Erdoğan and now Donald Trump. They claim to be patriots and leaders of their countries but I see them hacking away at the freedoms afforded to their people and just don’t understand why.

The other day, when our new President tweeted “The FAKE NEWS media…is not my enemy, it is the enemy of the American People,” I felt like I wanted to either crawl in a hole or run for the border. I could not believe it. With fear clutching at my heart, I wondered what my world was coming to and what it held in store for me. From where I was sitting at that particular moment, nothing good.

I sincerely want to believe our President has our best interests at heart, but half the time all I think he cares about is his image. I’ve been trying really hard to see past all the gasconade that comes out of his mouth. After watching his press conference yesterday and blowing up in frustration, I took it upon myself to see why boastfulness and pride were so dangerous as the topic for this very post. My search first took me to Proverbs 25:14, then Jeremiah 9:23, and finally Matthew 6:1-34. This last one finally hit home:

Beware of practicing your righteousness before other people in order to be seen by them, for then you will have no reward from your Father who is in heaven.

~ Matthew 6:1

I was all ready to take POTUS to task for his ways – can you believe it! Boy, do I have a lot to learn – who am I to criticize, to stand up before the crowd, and call the man out. After reading this verse from Mathew, I went back to my go-to guy for the last couple of months, Ramakrishna.

It did not take long for verse 66 to jump off the page at me: A perfect man is like a lotus-leaf in the water or like a mud-fish in the marsh. Neither of these is polluted by the element in which it lives. 

WOW, I was letting my water pollute me – Lessoned learned! 

